On Cassie Fine.

Bree Yoo Sun Jeong, 정유선
2 min readMay 20, 2024

I don’t feel it is necessary to repost the footage of Sean Combs ruthlessly beating Cassie Ventura Fine. People have seen it. For it to circulate and repost would just increase an algorithm of cultural violence because I can say and reference it fine without a repost.

But when I saw this footage, I thought. It may have been sufficient to release it, not for sensationalism, but to provide a glimpse into the social problem that is violence against ethnic minority women.

Again not for sensationalism. But I, disclose that I cried, albeit days later and alone in the privacy of my own space, after watching the footage.

In 2020, I sent photos of my face and my arms bruised to my brother. I texted him a photo of the man who had been essentially holding me hostage exploiting me as a young, single mother, alone in Chicago, working in strip clubs, engaged in a custody battle that was filed against me after I fled for my safety and my child’s safety in a 14 years long DV situation.

I asked my brother to keep the photos in case I turned up dead.

Today, a middle class professional woman and fully free, liberated and safe mom to my son, I cried for that girl.

How sad is it that I was, Cassie was, countless other ethnic minority women, put in that position? To ask for Justice be served under the presumption it will not come to pass in our lifetime, but only so that we may believed in the wake of our impending death?

--

--

Bree Yoo Sun Jeong, 정유선

I was formerly the young mother who leaned into destiny. These days I'm young-ish. I write about race, motherhood, transracial adoption, and hood feminism.